Happy Birthday, Big Brother!

Today’s my brother’s birthday. How mom planned our BD’s this close, I don’t know. Well, yes I do. We were both accidents, along with the one in between. Did I mention we’re 3 years and 3 days apart in age? Can you imagine having 3 kids in 3 years. Ugh. Poor mom. (Hmm. Three’s. Mom had a pattern going there.)

Big brother is a farmer and nothing makes him happier than being out on the tractor doing ‘whatever’ needs to be done. But I can guarantee you he’s not out today (working on equipment in the shop maybe but not out working the fields). Not in the 6-7” of snow we got yesterday.

I don’t know about you, but I’m tired of the snow. It was only 6 weeks ago we had the blizzard that left us with about the same amount we got yesterday. It’s pretty to look at, to go play in, but don’t ask me to go to work and drive on it. Yuk.

Personally, I like to snuggle down, sip hot apple cider and read a good book when housebound. So when you’re stuck inside, what do you do? How do you handle the inevitable cabin fever that hits you, your spouse, kids or pets?

Come on. Fess up. The world wants know. 🙂

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Happy Birthday, Big Brother!

  1. kc says:

    Hey, girl, love what you’ve done with the place!

    Let’s see…when I am housebound, I usually clean like a maniac, then get a little stir-crazy and start bitching at the kids to clean their bedrooms…then I clean some more. Then I bitch some more, then I clean, etc…

    Poor, poor kids…LOL!

    Take care, girl. Good to see you’ve got the interweb figured out.

    KC

  2. Linda says:

    Thanks, I really like what Ashlynn did with the site.

    You clean? Can I get you to come over/down to my house? What with the cold, we’ve got all the critters inside pretty much all the time. All that animal hair. . . . Ugh! Can’t seem to keep the vaccuum going fast enough. {snort}

    Thanks for dropping by, KC!

  3. Marilyn says:

    I spend way too much time letting one dog in and another one out, then cleaning up the mud/ice/snow they track in. And eating. I’m a grazer anyway, and cold just makes it that much worse. I don’t usually think about cleaning beyond the pupper messes. I need energy for that, and cold weather saps it right out of me.

  4. Linda says:

    We do the same thing, only with cats. Silly things. Of course it’s the MALE cats that want to go in (or out) every time the door is opened. The females have enough sense to stay indoors when there’s 8 inches of snow on the ground. {smart girls!}

    Ooh! I’m a grazer, too. My waistline is starting to feel . . . it big time. Ugh!!

  5. Meg says:

    I can only stay in for so long. I love a fire, a hot beverage, munchy snacks and a good book. A dog or two can usually be found on me with the other two close by.

    What I hate is I’ve just gotten settled and one of the dogs wants out. Like they couldn’t go out while I’m still standing??? argh!

    Great site, Linda!! Love it.

  6. Linda says:

    I think animals are like kids . . . they know when you’ve just sat down, or got on the phone, or went into the bathroom, therefore, they ‘need’ something from you.

    Glad you love the site, Meg. I just need to post a ‘tad’ more often. And put up a few more pictures. And add some snippets. A writers work is never done. Sorta of like a mom’s, huh? 🙂

Leave a Reply

