Chatty Who?

If you asked most of my friends, they’d tell you I’ve never had a problem talking. In fact, I’m pretty gabby. When I was a kid, my mom once told me I could out talk a sewing machine. 🙂  Sure couldn’t tell it from this blog, though. I’ve been so busy with the day job, financials for RWI (did I happen to mention I’m the chapter’s treasurer?) and life in general, I haven’t had much time for my site.

And I hate that!

Let me tell you what’s happening in my world. I’m headed off to the West Houston RWA chapter meeting this Saturday (www.whrwa.com). Can’t wait! For a couple of reasons. One is I’ll be staying with a dear, dear friend who moved to Houston a year ago and boy, do we have tons to catch up on! I’m sure I’ll come home hoarse from yakking so much. 🙂

The second reason is . . . I’m a Finalist in the 2009 Emily contest. WooHoo! This is a really big deal and I am so jazzed it’s unbelievable!! I entered my story, GRAVE SECRETS, in the Series Contemporary category and the final round judges are Patience Smith (Silhouette) and Sha-Shana Crichton (Crichton & Associates). The fact these two ladies were the judges was icing on the cake when I was contemplating entering the contest. Can’t wait to see how it turns out.

There is one ‘little’ drawback, though . . . driving in Houston rush hour traffic. (This part I am NOT looking forward to!) I’ll be stepping outside of my comfort zone and I have to admit I’m a bit nervous. But as writers we have to continually push ourselves and step out of those nice little shells we wrap around ourselves. This will simply be another test to see how well I do. However, I won’t be alone. One of my RWI sisters, Kathlyn Smith, will be going with me. {Road trip! Woot!!} We’ll have a blast and once we leave, I’m sure Texas will never be the same again. {Hey. As writers, we’re supposed to exaggerate a bit. Right? hehe}

Check back next week and I’ll let you know how it all went.

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in A Writers LIfe, Romance Writers, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

