You’ve GOT to be kidding!

Can you believe I have poison ivy? In the winter? Most people think the noxious plant goes dormant during the winter. Nope. Just because the leaves fall off doesn’t mean the oils on it aren’t still active. My dear ole’ tomcat has been out rat tracking (that’s his job, after all) and apparently went through some PI. Then he comes in, wants in my lap and BAMB, my exposed wrist now has the oils on it. Didn’t notice anything until the next day. Ugh. Too late to just wash it off at that point.

So I go to Houston with the nasty stuff. Managed to keep it under control while there, but once home it explodes on me. Worse case I’ve ever had. Stupid stuff went up my arm then down my torso. I won’t go into the gory details, but TWO trips to the doctor, a shot plus steroids and I’m finally on the mend. Whew!

The worst part? The meds (plus all the itching) have me in a state of depression. Which has affected my writing. And in a writer’s life, that’s the worst thing that can happen.

If you have a great remedy for my current state of mind, please let me know. Hmm. Maybe some Rocky Road ice cream, or better yet, chocolate. Food. Yeah, that’s the ticket! 🙂

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to You’ve GOT to be kidding!

  1. I’m so sorry you have PI but glad you’re on the mend!

    Don’t worry about it putting your writing into a funk. It will pass. Believe me. I won’t even go into the writing funk I was in early last year. It was ugly, that’s all I can say. But you will pull out of it and you’ll hit it running. Sometimes you have to let it run its course, but you will come out better on the other side. 🙂 LY Girl!

  2. Linda says:

    As the saying goes, “This, too, shall pass.” Hopefully sooner rather than later.

    I agree with you that all of our angst is reflected in our future writings and makes it stronger, more believable. I want to ‘Be all that I can be.’

    LY2!

  3. Susan says:

    OUCH, Linda. Know who Itchy and Scratchy are? (Probably not. They’re on one of the cartoon things my family used to watch. South park, maybe?)
    Anyway, I guess you’re get to play both parts these days.
    PI is miserable. Depression is miserable. So take this time to use the misery. Enjoy it. Wallow in it. And get your DH to take good care of you.

    • Linda says:

      Yep, I’m playing both Itchy AND Scratchy right now. But it’s less and less each day. THANK GOODNESS!!

      Wallow in my misery. Now THAT I can do! lol I know I’ve been whining a lot lately but I’ll snap out of it pretty soon then get back to cranking out the work. Actually, I think that has me more depressed than anything…the lack of work getting done. 😦

      But I’m on the downhill slide now. Yah!

      Thanks for stopping by.

  4. Marilyn says:

    Poison ivy? Ugh. Stay away stay away. I’ve only had it once and I thought I was going to die. Twelve days before I could see the doc, shots, ointments, double dose of steroids . . . I’ve still got the marks from it.

    I’m with Susan. Just wallow.

    And when I see you Saturday, just wave from across the room. 😉

    • Linda says:

      Trust me, I’ve been keeping my hands to myself. I wouldn’t even say Hi to an older gentleman at church that always insists on a hug because I didn’t want to take a chance I would give it to him. But I’ve got it pretty well under control now so you’re safe. Only place left is in my armpit and an antibiotic cream seems to be working better than anything else to clear it up. Go figure.

      Come Saturday, I PROMISE not to touch anyone! Okay? {I know y’all love me but, hey, love only goes so far. Even my DH told me to keep my hands to myself. 🙂 }

Leave a Reply

