It’s Daylight Savings Time? Already?

It’s the beginning of another week. And not just any week, the first Monday after the change to Daylight Savings Time. Ugh. I HATE the switch in spring when you lose an hour. Seems as if it takes all week just to get the body adjusted. Luckily it’s Spring Break so a lot of folks get to sleep in. Good for them. I’m certainly not one of them. On the bright side, there were fewer cars on the road to run in to. (Hey, I kept it between the lines.) {snort}

Do you have any tricks to help adjust with the time change? Just curious cause I could use a suggestion or two.

I do love the extra hour of daylight in the evenings, though. I’m a farmer’s daughter so being outside and getting dirt under my nails is therapy for me. In the dead of winter, when it’s dark before I even leave the office, not to mention colder than blue blazes, I ignore the flower beds. No going out and covering tender plants, etc. If it isn’t hardy enough to withstand the winters in Oklahoma, then too bad, so sad. Don’t scowl at me. I’m not cruel. After all, I tuck all six of my critters in bed every night. Not so easy when 4 of them are cats and definitely have minds of their own. But I try. 🙂

I figure another month and it’ll be warm enough to start working those beds, getting them ready for some annuals. Yea. The bad part is, it’ll mean 3 ½ months of 2010 will already be gone. Dang. Where does the time go? Seriously. I’d like to know.

Speaking of time, those revisions won’t get done if I keep ignoring them simply because I’d rather be out pulling weeds out of the flowerbeds. Hmmm. I think it’s time to incorporate a few of those weeds into my story.  (Check back later and I’ll explain that comment. hehe)

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Daylight Savings Time? Already?

  1. I hear you on the DST. Not only am I battling the loss of an hour, but insomnia to boot. Can we say, ugh? I am so tired, but I can tell tonight will be another one of those nights. The one where you kinds sleep, but not really.

    Get cracking on those words…the weeds can wait. 😛

  2. Linda says:

    So sorry to hear you have insomnia, Ash. I had the same problem a few nights ago. Hopefully, tonight you’ll drop off into a deep sleep and get some rest. Do you think this has anything to do with the edits – and deadline – you need to do on your book? (But that’s a good thing.)

    Words. Right. Okay. Gotcha. 🙂

Leave a Reply

