Snow Is In The Air…Again!

It’s officially Spring (as of yesterday), so of course it’s snowing. Not a little…a lot! Yesterday we got a good 6 inches and this morning it’s snowing again. Fat flakes whipping around in the blowing north wind. Talk about cold! Brrr

It’s pretty to look at from the comfort of my home and the only time I venture out is to walk the dogs or to bring in more wood for the stove. Have I told you how much I love our wood stove? There’s nothing like the heat to break the chill. Even the central heat can’t compare. And once the stove gets to rockin’ and rollin’, the central unit seldom kicks on. Saving us $$. Yea! All we have to do is feed it. On a regular basis. That could be expensive, except we have some acreage and have a lot of trees that either need to come down, or lost limbs during the ice storm a couple years ago.

Meaning we have a ton of wood. Well, we did until this winter. Since we’ve had about 4 good snowfalls this year as well as the normal cold weather of winter, the supply is getting rather sparse. But we still have enough to get us through this (hopefully) last cold spell of the season.

Last Friday it was 70 degrees and believe it or not, will be 70 again in a couple of days. Go figure. But, that’s Mother Nature for you.

In the meantime, I’m hunkering down. Being stuck indoors does have its advantages. I can get my house cleaned, laundry done and more importantly, get some writing done. Always a favorite ‘chore’.

Where ever you are, I hope you have a great Sunday!

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in A Writers LIfe. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Snow Is In The Air…Again!

  1. Cousin Marcy says:

    Once again, we left town in the nick of time. We are just north of Little Rock in the town of Ward, where it is raining, but no snow; and the temp stayed up. Think we’ll stay here until someone tells us it is safe to return home (April 17th maybe!?!).

    • Linda says:

      Do you have a Sixth Sense about these things, or what? lol Going to warmer climates sounds like a good idea. Although, this afternoon it stopped snowing, started raining and a big chunk of the snow has melted. YAH!!! I might not have such a hard time getting to work tomorrow after all.

      Have a good trip, Cuz!

  2. Susan Shay says:

    I’m ready for spring, but I don’t think it matters. It’s still snowing here, too. Blech. I like snow . . . in Colorado, when I want to ski.
    But springtime in Oklahoma should be for gardening.

  3. Linda says:

    I agree, Susan. I think it’s time to start plowing those veggie gardens, not shovel snow off the driveway. I hope by now that it’s melting at your house like it is here. After all, we’re only an hour apart distance wise.

  4. Meg says:

    Late as usual. The snow here was awesome. Love it that you have woods to clean and to burn the logs! We didn’t light the fireplace this last time but like you, the fire keeps the furnance from coming on. NICE!

    • Linda says:

      I think you had a good reason . . . you were out playing at Turner Falls part of the week. Yea! I know you had a great time, too. (I checked The Twisted Sisters blog.) hehe

      Thanks for taking the time to stop by.

Leave a Reply

