Belief

Do you ever wonder if you’ll ‘get there’? You’ve written for years, perfecting the craft, going to conferences and workshops, taken classes, networked . . . in other words, done everything you should. Friends and critique partners praise your writing, encouraging you. Yet you wonder why you keep at it. Even though you final in contests, your manuscript is never requested by the final judge. At the same time, you see newbie’s who seem to effortlessly crank out a story, receiving those coveted requests, then offered a contract.

You seriously consider just chucking it all and forgetting it. After all, you’ve been beating your head up against a wall for years now. But what do you have to show for it?

You pour yourself a drink and have a very nice pity party. It’s dreary and overcast and rainy . . . adding to your mood. You find excuse after excuse to keep from sitting at the keyboard, to keep from working on those revisions.

If you’re like me, once you get to “The End”, you want to shut it down and move on to the next story. But you can’t. If there will ever be any hope of selling that story, then you have to suck it up, ignore everything else around you and concentrate on those characters, that plot. You have to polish the manuscript until it shines.

And have faith that one day you WILL get that call because you aren’t alone. It’s a well worn path that we travel and when we slip, when we fall, others that have gone before will help pick you up.

We can do it. All we have to do is believe.

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in A Writers LIfe, Romance Writers, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Belief

  1. I believe in you, Linda. I always have. You’ll do it. I also understand the pity party. Been there myself. I always let myself wallow a lil bit, then I jerk myself up and make myself move forward. We have too. Because if you remain stagnant, evetually, we start to smell. lol
    LY!!

    • Linda says:

      LOL, Ash. I LOVE your point of view. Guess I’ll have to keep moving cause I have a VERY sensitive nose. If I wallow too much, I’ll look – and smell – like my dogs after they’ve found a really good stinky spot out in the pasture. Yuk.

      Thanks for your support.

      LY2

  2. Marilyn says:

    There’s no doubt, Linda, that writing’s a tough business. Everyone has to have a few “poor babies” now and then. But keeping at it is what separates the pros from the prentenders — and you’re a pro, no doubt about it. Whatever happens, you know you’re giving it a good shot, and that’s the best anyone can ask.

    • Linda says:

      I AM a pro, aren’t I? Even have the pin to prove it. 🙂 You know I’ll keep at it. Got too many people standing behind me (supporting me) who would switch to standing on my back, jumping up and down and yelling, “Get with it!!” if I tried to stop. hehe Besides, I’d go insane. It calls us. Being a writer is like having claws dug under our skin that pull us along. We couldn’t stop if we wanted to.

      Guess the gloomy day got to me. Figured others were having the same problem so decided to post my thoughts and feelings. I’m so glad I have fellow writers (and friends!) there for support and encouragement. I hope everyone else out there in cyber land is half as lucky!

  3. Susan says:

    You? Depressed? Worried???
    I don’t believe it. You’re the only person I’ve ever met who finalled in every unpubbed contest she ever entered. Dang, baby! Do you know how rare that is?
    Your biggest problem is the same as mine. Not a lot of self confidence when it comes to writing.
    So what? We’re women.
    Fake it.
    😉

    • Linda says:

      Hate to burst your bubble, but I haven’t finaled in all the contests I’ve entered. Found out just a couple weeks ago that I didn’t final in the Great Beginnings contest. Also haven’t finaled in WTMB several times. All in all, I’d say I only final in about half the contests I enter. I just don’t publicize it.

      Fake it? Seriously. Do we ever do that??? {snort}

Leave a Reply

