66 Years Ago

Two young lanky farmers met when they joined the Army to fight in WWII. On Mother’s Day, May 9, 1944, they shipped out of San Diego, not knowing their destination or if they would survive the ordeal they were about to face. Nor did they suspect how they would affect each other’s lives.

As luck would have it, they remained in the same unit throughout the war, participating in campaigns in Africa, Sicily and Europe. Once back home, they continued their friendship. The Texan returned to his wife and the Okie found love and married.

 Decades of memories were created as they traveled back and forth across the Red River and as their families grew. No two people could be closer than these two men. They shared the same values, the same love of God and family, the same love of working the land. Each was a ‘tinker’ in that they created whatever they needed with their own hands out of whatever was available. And it usually worked. Over the last nine years, they comforted each other as each lost his wife.

One week ago today, the Texan took his last breath. It was finally his time to meet his Maker as he gladly went Home. He affected all who knew him and was a kind, caring and giving man. He leaves behind a multitude of family and friends.

And the Okie.

During the service at the cemetery, the children wanted to honor the two men’s loyalty and devotion to each other. After the 21 gun salute, the flag from his casket was presented to the Okie.

Budo will cherish that flag the rest of his life, as he cherished his friendship with Perk, the name dad had called him since they’d met. Farewell Ray Perkins. You are loved and sorely missed!

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 66 Years Ago

  1. txsunshine says:

    I’m sorry for your family’s loss, Linda. May your friend rest in peace!

  2. Linda says:

    Thank you for your condolences . . . I appreciate it. They truely had a special bond that I don’t think even death can break.

  3. Meg says:

    Wonder tribute to both your father and Patsy’s. I wish I could have known them, but then I remember my own father, and he had those same values. Men like them are so rare. I’m glad your father, Patsy’s and mine were like that.

    You’re right….not even death can break that bond.

    • Linda says:

      Come on up, Meg and I’ll introduce you to my dad. Trust me, he’ll talk your ear off. (Wonder where I get it? hehe) I never met your father, but I know he was a VERY special man. And he was proud of you and all you’ve accomplished.

      The difference between mine and Patsy’s dads was my wants all his chicks (kids) close to home. Perk, on the other hand, seemed to tell his kids to fly and explore all they can be. My perception, anyway. However, both instilled solid values in us. As did your father.

      Thanks for stopping by.

  4. Linda,

    This is such a beautiful story of enduring friendship. How blessed you are to have such men in your life and such an example of that one of a kind friendship we should all strive for.

    • Linda says:

      Lynn,

      Yes, they had a great friendship. I don’t envy what they went through during the war, but I do appreciate their friendship. It was a great example for us.

Leave a Reply

