Gut Reactions

It’s been a full month since I posted anything. Dang! What’s wrong with me? Oh, I know…life and more commitments than I care to count. My post fell to the bottom of the list.

As it seems to happen more and more, we had a short spring that suddenly exploded into a hot and humid summer. Temps in the high 80’s, low 90’s with (again) high humidity levels. Feels like an oven outside. So of course the air conditioner has gone on the fritz. {grumble, grumble} Got someone coming out, hopefully, tomorrow. Stewing in your own sweat (I’m sorry, ladies glisten, don’t we?) while sitting at the keyboard is not conducive to productivity. Some would say, “Tough. Suck it up wimp and get on with it.” I have been. Mostly. I have a couple of fans blowing on me in my cubby hole of an office. Which helps me not ‘glisten’ quite as much. **snort**

Speaking of writing, have you ever been told that your story is great and will sell, but in your gut you know something is missing? That’s where I am. I’ve finished GRAVE SECRETS and have even gone through a couple rounds of edits. But it still doesn’t feel right. I know that if I submitted it to an editor as is it would be rejected. Personally, that’s not my goal. I want my baby accepted.

But there’s good news. Like a lightning bolt, it hit me the other day as to what was missing. Yah! {Bout stinkin’ time!} Now all I have to do is go back and add in a few key points, take out the ‘yawn’ parts and there ya’ go. That sucker will be ready to go. Woot!

Easier said than done, though. Sure wish I had a magic wand to wave to ‘make it so’. But what would the fun of that? Once I’m done and it’s in the hands of an editor (thinking positive thoughts here) I’ll know that I produced the best product I could. Something I can be proud of.

Have you ever been in this situation? Everyone is telling you your story is great, but you’re going, “Um, I don’t think so.” Fess up. I’d like to know.

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Gut Reactions

  1. Susan says:

    Sure I have. I think most writers who’ve been at it any tiime at all have. (Notice I said most. )
    But I’ve also been in the “this is a good story, why didn’t it sell” mode, too.

    Trouble is, our opinion is only one opinion. An editor’s is only one. And agent’s is only one. And all it takes is one.
    finding the right one is the trick.
    My fingers are crossed for you! It’s your time.

    • Linda says:

      At one time or another, all of us have thought we had the best story ever and wondered why someone didn’t buy it. More than likely, though, if we sit on that story a while, then go back a few years later, we’ll say, “What was I thinking?” Our writing is constantly evolving.

      In order to get the right person whose opinion matches ours, we have to keep pushing. I know that. But boy is it hard sometimes!

      Such is the life a writer.

  2. Marilyn says:

    Yeah, and it doesn’t get easier.

    🙂

  3. Linda says:

    Boy, that’s encouraging. 😉 But if anyone ever said this was easy, they were lying. We do it cause we can’t ‘not’ do it.

    • Marilyn says:

      I’ve always gotten a kick out of people who decide to break into romance because it’s “easy,” and then they plan to move to their true love, literature or historical or saga or whatever. Never have known a single one who managed to sell a romance. They all go away soon enough.

  4. Linda,

    Like Susan said I think we’ve all been there. But you have to balance getting right with getting it out. One of the most memorable posts I’ve read was one Meg wrote about knowing when good is good enough. We walk a fine line, and sometimes need to remember nothing is perfect.

    • Linda says:

      Lynn,

      Thanks for the reminder that sometimes ‘good enough’ really is ‘good enough’. I am SO close to that point right now! I really do need to let go of that super detailed perfectionist in me. At least to a certain extent. I think that might be called FREEDOM! 🙂

  5. RD says:

    Hey Linda!

    Your writing is clean and professional. My first time in critiique when I compared my writing to yours, I was so EMBARRASSED at all my little quirky new writer flaws. 🙂 But I recognized the talent in your writing. I didn’t have anything to mark or critiique on your chapter. Fat lotta good I was to helping you improve.

    In my gut, I KNOW you will sell. But you are right. As you grow in the profession, you learn all sorts of tricks and tips that make you a stronger witer. I know, I’m at the very beginning of the process where the learning curve is not so forgiving. 🙂

    But the details we learn enrich us, help make our writing fuller and give us more confidence in our product. Just keep climbing. You’re almost there.

    And more posts, please? I really love the story threads you do at WS. 🙂

    • Linda says:

      Oh, Ren. You are SO sweet! That really boosts my ego.

      Hey, you should’ve been around for my first critiques with the chapter. For at least 2 or 3 months in a row, I literally threw out everything I’d written. Head hopping, disjointed, no emotion, starting in the wrong place (multiple times!). You name it, I did it. Been whipped into shape since then, though. hehe

      But you have nothing to be embarrassed about with your writing. Granted, you’re quirky but that’s just one of the things I love about your writing – and you. We’re all too hard on ourselves, except I feel we have to be in order to improve enough to sell. So you keep on what your doing. Which is learning and growing and improving your craft. I look forward to seeing your name on the bookstore shelf. Right beside mine! 😉

  6. Meg says:

    Yes, Linda, I’ve been there and when it comes to you, that feeling is wonderful! 🙂

  7. Linda says:

    Oh, thanks, Meg! You sure know how to make a person feel better.

  8. Sofi says:

    From Argentina, I wish you the best Linda!!! I know you deserve it after all the hard work. 🙂

    • Linda says:

      Hi, Sofi!

      How are things in Argentina?

      Thank you for your well wishes. I don’t honestly think anyone ever makes it in this or any other industry without hard work. You reap what you sow. I also think a person appreciates those rewards more when they have had to sacrifice and work hard to get there.

      So glad you stopped by!
      Linda

Leave a Reply

