Social Media

I attended a seminar today about Social Media. You’d think I’d have a better clue about this aspect of marketing yourself, but at least I wasn’t the only one who needed help — the room was packed.

One of the first things I learned was to promote yourself on a constant basis. Never pass up an opportunity to sell yourself and your writing. I learned how to set up a display table at book signings, how to create posters and signs for display, to always carry your books, book marks and business cards with you, just to name of few of the things presented today. At the end of the seminar a lady came up to me and asked for my card. {Uh-oh!} I didn’t have one on me. I knew I was out but hadn’t replenished my card case before leaving the house. {Dumb, Linda, dumb.} I could’ve made a new friend but when I didn’t have a card to give her in return, she moved on. *sigh* Can’t blame her.

I also learned to link my website to Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn and how each of those places can help to promote you as a professional writer. Not that I’m signed up on any of those sites. Yet. I once told myself that I would never Twitter. (Helpful hint: Never say never.)

I haven’t gone through all my notes yet but I have a boatload of information just waiting to be sifted through. I can’t wait!

This was a terrific seminar and I’m very grateful to the presenters for their hard work and their willingness to share their knowledge.

I’ll keep you posted on my progress of projecting more of an Internet presence. Um, well, it might be fairly obvious. At least here on my blog. LOL

Later.

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in A Writers LIfe, Life After Publishing, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Social Media

  1. theweightofsilence says:

    Interesting. I will have to keep these things in mind when I get to the point of business cards and actually having a published book.

    • Linda says:

      The one thing that I know – it’s never too early to start promoting yourself. Not that I’ve done a very good job of it so far. I’ve been playing around with my writing for a while now, but it’s time to get serious.

      What do you write?

      Thanks for stopping by.

      • theweightofsilence says:

        I write flash fiction, poetry, and I’ve been blogging for almost 7 years. I’ve been trying to write a novel, but I can never get very far. I’ve started so many ideas, but I’ve never finished any of them. I don’t know why. I’ve been thinking about self-publishing a book of my poetry and prose.

  2. JP Jones says:

    Linda, I LOVE your synopsis of yesterday’s event. I’m so glad to hear that you did get a lot of the day and I hope you enjoy all the great “giveaways” in your packet. The sponsors were absolutely amazing and gave out some great stuff!

    • Linda says:

      JP, it was a great workshop! Members of my romance chapter, Romance Writers Ink, are already hounding me for info and what I learned. LOL Check out our blog at http://www.writingsluts.com. I blogged on Saturday before attending the seminar.

      I think writers are like sponges, constantly wanting more knowledge so they can improve their craft. Personally, I don’t think we can learn too much.

      The giveaways were great! I think this afternoon will be a good time to dive in and start utilizing what I learned yesterday.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Linda says:

    Dear Silence,
    Congrats on starting a novel. Finishing IS hard. I’ve found belonging to a writers group helps. You can get feedback and encouragement from them. Critique partners also help. Make sure they either write what you do or at least ‘get’ what you write.

    If you aren’t getting very far with the book, then try to do an in-depth outline. Know where the book is going. For me, that’s one of the hardest things to do. I tend to write by the seat of my pants without a clear idea of what will happen. Except the ending. I always know how it’ll end beforehand. But each writer is different. Take some online classes or attend workshops or conferences. Anything to keep those creative juices flowing.

    The MOST important thing is to NEVER give up!

    Good luck!!

  4. Meg says:

    Great post, Linda!
    Glad the seminar was illuminating!!!
    BBH

  5. RD Carter says:

    So glad to see you getting CONNECTED and WIRED IN, Linda. LOL!
    Social media, blogging, websites, promotion is a full time job. How ever do writers find time to WRITE?

    Loved the post and the synopsis.Thanks for the tips.

    • Linda says:

      I’m not ‘there’ yet, but at least I’m taking steps to get there. Gee, who says you can’t teach an old dog new tricks? hehe

  6. Linda,

    Sound like the class was helpful. Go get ’em girl! Thanks for sharing.

    • Linda says:

      I did get a lot out of the seminar. I already knew to keep bookmarks and a business cards with you at all times. Look at Peggy Fielding when she had her stroke . . . passing out bookmarks to everyone in the ER. But it was good to have the reminder.

  7. Susan says:

    I’m glad the class was worth the time and money, Linda. You’re so ready for this sale! Standing on the edge, ready to fly!
    I. CAN’T. WAIT.

  8. Linda says:

    Susan, you are SUCH a cheerleader and supporter! Thanks!! It means a lot.

  9. Linda says:

    Hey, Susan? I have one more question for you. Once I finish that ‘downhill slide’, will I have cockleburs in my backside? Just thought I’d ask so I can be mentally prepared. 🙂

Leave a Reply

