Autumn?

One day it’s Summer, and the next day it looks like Fall has arrived. Leaves litter the ground and more of the trees are barren than not. Overnight. Sheesh. It may not ‘feel’ like Autumn yet (still in the 70’s and 80’s) but it sure does look like it. Leaves are already piled against my porch steps, waiting to be raked and bagged.

Bound corn stalks with piles of pumpkins are popping up everywhere. And next Sunday is Halloween.  Man, where did the year go? This is the last quarter of 2010, which means it’s only 2 months until Christmas. Dang. I am NOT ready despite the fact decorations are already up in the stores.

I don’t know if it’s my age or what, but the years seem to slide by faster and faster.  *sigh* I never seem to get everything done that I think I’m going to get done during the year. Unexpected events and surprises pop up (some wanted, some not) that interfere with my well laid plans. Of course, that’s part of life and we have to learn to go with the flow. Usually, you can’t change it anyway so you might as well make the best out of whatever has hit you square between the eyes.

Easier said than done, I know. But we have to try.

So I’m going to try to ignore the multitude of other issues in my world right now and concentrate on my writing. One page, one paragraph, one line at a time.

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in A Writers LIfe, Romance Writers, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Autumn?

  1. Marilyn says:

    Sounds like a good plan, Linda.

    Rake leaves? Bag ’em? No, no. You stomp around in them and listen to them crackle, then eventually, probably by next May, they’ll blow to the side and decay. 🙂

  2. Linda says:

    I like your idea a LOT better than mine!

  3. Meg says:

    I have a super duper leaf blower and wait for a good south wind to blow them across the street to our nasty neighbors. BEG 😉

    • Linda says:

      Meg, you are SO bad! But hey, I’d let the nasty neighbors worry about the leaves, too. Do they see you blowing them their way? But who cares if they do? Maybe they’ll get tired of it and move. EG

Leave a Reply

