Mother Nature, Where Are You?

I’m beginning to think it’s never going to rain in Northeastern Oklahoma again. Not any substantial amounts, anyway. The current forecast for rain keeps getting pushed further and further out.

We’re almost 4” under for the year and you can sure tell it. DH was out mowing the dead leaves, then raking and bagging them. Had to wear a mask just so he could breathe.  Decided to wait until after a rain, even a brief one, to do the rest of the yard. He kinda looked liked Pig Pen from the Charlie Brown comic strip . . . dust floated behind him when he walked by.

On top of that, my nice (mostly) white  kitty cats look beige. Rolling in the dirt is a favorite past time of theirs. Then, of course, they come in and want to jump in my lap. Uh, no thank you!

The last time it rained I heard people grumbling and wanting it to quit. Well, they got their wish. Now maybe I’ll get mine.

Rain, rain, COME today. Go away some other day. PLEASE!

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mother Nature, Where Are You?

  1. Marilyn says:

    I want rain, too!! Not for a couple days, though. I see the doc tomorrow and get released to all activity as tolerated. First thing I’m gonna do is climb on the mower and get our yard trimmed up.

    THEN it can rain. Two to three hours of a good soaking every morning for a week would do nicely.

    • Linda says:

      Looks like you’re getting your wish, Marilyn. They keep pushing the rain further and further out. BUT, there’s a 90% chance on Friday. At least for now it’s 90% chance. Sure hope it hits. I really won’t mind going to the meeting Saturday in the rain.

      Hope you got the yard all mowed. And that you wore a dust mask.

      • Marilyn says:

        I got a good chunk of the front done, but there’s probably 3 1/2 acres left to go. I think I got enough cut to make at least 3 round bales of hay!!

        But we got enough rain this morning that now it’s got to dry out before I can start again.

  2. Linda says:

    Yeah, but aren’t you glad we’re getting the rain? It’s been so dry for so long that we need it. Badly. I’m going to get wet walking to my car from the office, but I don’t care.

    Rain, baby, rain!

  3. Meg says:

    The last rain we got gave our pasture a good soaking. The grass is not really growing but the critters are loving it.
    Now I get to deal with the falling leaves!

    • Linda says:

      We’ve been dealing with the leaves at our house, too. DH uses he lawn mower to get them into a furrow, then manually bags them. From The Twisted Sisters blog today, I see where you don’t have to do that anymore. Woot!

      Have fun on your new playtoy. 😉

  4. Sandee says:

    Linda,

    Looks like SoCal is getting all your rain. I think they’d trade it back to you now. spw

    • Linda says:

      Yes, it does look like they’re getting all our rain and would be more than willing to trade some (okay, a lot!) of it away. Sad thing is, it’s always feast or famine no matter where you are. {sigh}

Leave a Reply

