You Say Its Your Birthday?

It’s my birthday, too!

(Can you hear the music playing in the background? 😉 )

Last year was a milestone birthday for me and I knew it would be a year of changes, in more ways than one. It was. But it dragged out to the last day of the year for one aspect of my life. My day job went to Argentina and I was laid off. I’m okay with that.

Truly.

I knew there’d be major emotions hitting me upside the head . . . anger, disbelief, depression, before finally acceptance. All of which I’d been through once before years ago. It isn’t pretty but everyone goes through them. Now, almost a month later, I think I’m about to get my head screwed back on straight. (‘Bout stinkin’ time!)

Although, on the advice of a dear friend, I gave myself a month to get my bearings as ‘unemployed’ and to get my feet under me. I’m really glad I did that, too. A person needs to decompress and adapt to new situations. Giving yourself permission to NOT worry about anything, and to take it easy, is one of the best gifts ever. (Trust me.)

I’m looking forward to this next phase of my life, which (it just so happens) will entail a more regimented writing program. I may be another year older, but I’m definitely getting better and better!  I think I’m finally finding myself, both as an individual and a writer.

And loving every minute of it.

Today, I’m going to take it easy. No special plans or big ta-do’s . . . partly because I have a major dental appointment. Ugh. But DH and I will either celebrate with a dinner out tonight (if I feel like it) or take Friday and go to dinner and a movie. We’ll play it by ear and see.

That’s what I love about my new life. I can be SO flexible. I finally have the time to do all the things during the day I could never do before.

Yes, this will be a milestone year for me. Not for the number of years I’ve been blessed on this earth, but by the opportunities for my writing.

So Happy Birthday to me!

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in A Writers LIfe. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to You Say Its Your Birthday?

  1. Meg says:

    Happy Birthday to you, Linda!!
    Life is just beginning! 🙂

  2. Marilyn says:

    It’s your birthday, it’s your birthday, you gotta party . . .

    Have a good day all week long!

  3. Jackie King says:

    Loved your thoughts on your new life and living in general. Now you can start living your dream!

    • Linda says:

      Thanks, Jackie. I can certainly wax poetic sometimes. 😉

      I’ve also decided that, to an extent, I’m now old enough to be an adult. Course, I’m sure I’ll have major relapses along the way. Can’t “totally” lose sight of the child in me, now can I? {snort}

  4. Susan Shay says:

    I watched a really old movie tonight called Lost Horizons. In it a man says, “Everytime you outsiders celebrate a birthday, you build another fence around your mind.”
    I’m glad to hear you’re tearing down those fences and going after the life you were meant to live!
    It is time.

    • Linda says:

      We’re building another fence? Humph. That’s all that screenwriter knows! We write our own stories and therefore control our own destinies.

      Thanks for sharing part of that movie and making me think, but I’ll just continue tearing fences down. Hey, I hauled rocks today, and not little one’s, either. If I can do that, then I can certainly go after a new life. Right? 😉

      • Susan Shay says:

        Absolutely!
        In this story, the people who live in the place where the outsiders stumble into (Utopia) live to be really old. He was saying that years aren’t what make us old. It’s attitude–the “I’m this age, that means I’m middle aged” or “I’m that age, that means I’m old”.
        You are not building fences. You’re tearing down attitudes and expectations.
        Good! For! You!!!

Leave a Reply

