Springtime

It’s spring. Time for fresh beginnings. Time for new growth.

I’m blogging over at Writing Sluts today (www.writingsluts.com) about growing. Thought I’d continue the thought here.

Someone once told me I was great with metaphors. Guess I do kinda like to use them. A lot! 🙂

Not long ago we were shoveling knee deep snow. Not anymore. Now, parts of my yard are deep enough in green that it’s time to break out the mower. {Groan!!} I compared what is barely turning green to what is already several inches high. Well, duh. The weeds are what have sprouted and are going gang busters.

I think sometimes our stories are like that. They might be green and growing like crazy, but they’re still weeds. Personally, I’m thinking of my first story that will forever remain under the bed. It’s an interesting storyline (green) and may even have good characters (pretty flowers), but will never be anything but a weed (poorly written). That’s because I just sat down and started writing.

Didn’t know my characters, plus I didn’t know the plot except generally how it would begin and end. I had too many twists and turns, which isn’t unusual for a new author, and didn’t wrap up all the loose ends. How do I know? I submitted it to an editor, of course. And of course it was rejected.

I was still a beginner and had no business submitting it. In my opinion, anyway. Some would disagree, but I knew in my gut it wasn’t ready. I pitched it at a conference and received a request for a full . . . so how could I NOT send it?

Granted I’d placed in a few contests with the first chapter. But overall, it just wasn’t ready.

The point I’m trying to get to here (have you noticed I like to ramble? Hehe) is that you have to determine what to keep and what to discard. Weed? Or flower? OR, can that scraggly weed be turned into a beautiful flower with the proper fertilizer and TLC?

Hmm. Maybe I should go back to that first manuscript and see if there’s anything I can salvage. Is there a rose lurking in the middle of the weed patch? Might be interesting to find out.

Tell me, what do you have planted this year and what will it be once it blooms?

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in A Writers LIfe, Romance Writers, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Springtime

  1. Meg says:

    Linda–
    I haven’t planted much on computer– a few feelings about some life circumstances.
    But I’ve been creative in other ways.
    Thanks for reminding me that I’ve got to get going.

    • Linda says:

      My mom used to tell my dad he had too many irons in the fire. Meg, it’s time to pull a few of your irons out and concentrate on what’s really important to you. Then again, maybe not. I think if you had a second of free time, you’d go nuts. 😉

  2. Marilyn says:

    Sometimes, though, a weed patch is a weed patch, or the effort of digging out the beautiful roses would be better spent digging a new bed and planting new roses in it. 🙂

    I’ve got seeds that won’t germinate, and another bunch of a variety that just isn’t popular with the buyers right now. And my good little sturdy ones that pretty much always sell — I think they’re bright orange marigolds. Pretty universal. (I’ve got to stop. I’m making myself silly.)

    • Linda says:

      I totally agree about just leaving a weed patch as is. It IS easier to dig a whole new bed and start from scratch rather than try to resurrect the old.

      I love your seeds! Even if they are universal and sell well. Hey, they put food on the table, don’t they? 😉 But I really would like to see some of your ‘hybrids’. I KNOW there’s a market for them out there. Somewhere. Keep tilling the soil…something good will eventually turn up. I’ve got faith!

  3. Hmm,…I’m in plotting and character mode right now. No real writing yet. I know, get with it right? I have to work around how I feel. grrs anyway! But I’ll keep going and planting even if it’s a slow process. 🙂

    • Linda says:

      But plotting and character mode is extremely important in the writing process. So you’re out there tilling the soil, getting those seeds planted and watered. I’m willing to bet your garden is getting ready to sprout with wonderfully beautiful, healthy plants. 😉

Leave a Reply

