Catch-Up

Man, have I been AWOL for awhile! Lots of stuff has been going on in my world, none of which I’ll bore you with today. Instead, I want to tell you where I was last week.

I attended West Texas A&M University’s Writers Academy in Canyon, TX . . . a full week of workshops and activities. I took the class by Jodi Thomas and it was great getting invaluable information from her about writing and the business of writing. We had a small class (11 people) so we got to know each other pretty well. I truly miss my classmates already!

In addition to the morning class, they had various other activities planned that we could participate in.

Monday afternoon I found time to take a much needed nap. I made the 6 hour drive by myself on Sunday and the adrenalin carried me through the day and evening. Monday was a different story. That evening, there was a banquet and book signing. Then I found out one of the staff members is also a member of Ladies of Harley. Cool. Another biker. Got to see her bike Friday. It’s purple and SPARKLES! Loved it!

Tuesday evening several of us went to The Big Texan, a steakhouse. They have the most interesting décor.

Possessed?

Interesting Wall

Here’s a picture of Romney Nesbit and Alexandra Sokoloff being serenaded. Romney and I joined in on the chorus of Living on Tulsa Time.

Editor Hilary Sares probably thought we were nuts. 🙂

Hilary enjoying the atmosphere

We then headed to the Charles Goodnight cemetery. He was instrumental in developing the Texas Panhandle. For some reason, people leave a bandana on the fence surrounding his grave. I wrote, “I never met a man I didn’t like. Will Rogers. Claremore, OK” on my bandana. Hey, figured it was fitting considering I’m an Okie.

Wednesday night we attended the play TEXAS at Palo Duro Canyon. Here I am at the lookout. Isn’t that a magnificent view behind me?

The play was at the bottom of the canyon floor, 1,000 feet below the lookout.  At the end they lit up the side of the canyon wall and had a huge American flag also lit. Brought tears to my eyes.

Thursday night was movie night (A Murder of Crows) with popcorn and candy. Nice and relaxing. And in-between everything, we were critiquing each other’s pages. I was so impressed with the level of writing of my classmates.

I came home exhausted but so pumped about my own writing. Got a plot problem figured out, too. Yea! I loved spending the week immersed in writing and can’t wait until next year. Oh, and this is me and Jodi ‘clowning’ around. Hey, you should take your writing seriously . . . not yourself. Right? 😉

Jodi's sense of humor

Of course I can’t leave out my wonderful roommate, Linda Broday. If you haven’t read her, you need to! She’s a great writer!!

The two Linda's

So that’s it. My week in a nutshell. Loved every exhausting minute of it!

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in A Writers LIfe, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Catch-Up

  1. Susan says:

    Linda Broday? She won More than Magic one year. I LOVE her! I hope you told her hi from the RWI girls.
    So glad you had a good time, I want to hear more about what you learned. I’d love to go next year. (I’d love to have gone this year! Wish I had, now.)
    Wonderful pictures.

    • Linda says:

      Thanks, Susan. Linda was wonderful to room with! It was great really getting to know her.

      Wish you could’ve gone this year. I know it’s different every year with different speakers, etc, but being cut off from everything except writing for an entire week was fantastic!

  2. Kathlyn says:

    Nice summary, Linda! Great photos. Glad it was a wonderful week for you.

    • Linda says:

      I have to admit I suck at photography. But some of the pictures turned out fairly decent. However, I deliberately didn’t post the one’s that are super blurry. I’ll bring the camera to the next meeting and you can see for yourself. 🙂

  3. Meg says:

    Linda–
    The week sounds fantastic and packed with fun!
    (The play at Palo Duro canyon is one of my most favorite in the world.)

    • Linda says:

      They definitely kept you busy. Or at least gave you the option to participate in different activities.

      The play was great! I didn’t know it was so renowned. Normally they have fireworks at the end of it but didn’t because of the burn ban and out of respect to those that have lost their homes to fire over the last couple of weeks. They did have a shooting water display, though. I’m so glad I went!

  4. Anne Mathews says:

    Hey Linda, they should pay you to promote their convention. It sounds like a blast!!

Leave a Reply

