If You’re a Writer, Raise Your Hand

Do you consider yourself a ‘real’ writer? Someone who is worthy of calling themselves a writer? Or do you think of yourself as someone who plays at being a writer? I think a lot of us fall into the latter category, at least when we first start writing.

My concept of a writer had always been someone who sits at their keyboards for hours on end, cranking out page after page of wonderfully written stories. Someone who comes up an idea for a book, zips out a proposal, ships it off to their editor or agent, then BAM!, they’ve got a contract lined up. Within just a couple months they have the book finished, polished and shipped back to said agent or editor, then sit back and wait for the book – and the royalties – to come out. Oh, if only it were that easy.

The people who ‘seem’ to be doing just that have also paid their dues. They’ve taken classes and workshops, attended conferences, entered contests and learned the craft. They’ve deleted or thrown away countless pages while learning. They’ve cried with rejections and danced with joy when they won awards and eventually sold. It’s a tough world out there. Like growing old, writing isn’t for sissies.

But folks, if you’re stringing coherent sentences together and forming paragraphs and pages of prose, then guess what? You’re a writer, pure and simple. Congratulations!

Now go forth and conquer.  🙂

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in A Writers LIfe, Romance Writers, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If You’re a Writer, Raise Your Hand

  1. Marilyn says:

    Good encouragement, Linda. I can remember years ago, thinking that I could never be a writer because I hadn’t finished college, hadn’t taken any writing courses, didn’t know anything about the technical aspects. I’d written stories since I learned how to write, but none of that counted in my mind until I took a chance and submitted a book and SOLD it. There was still a lot to learn, but I had already absorbed tons on my own without knowing it.

    Of course, there’s ALWAYS more to learn, but that’s part of the fun. Usually. Most of the time. 🙂

    • Linda says:

      Isn’t it interesting how insecure a lot of really good writers are? We think we aren’t good enough for one reason or another. Good thing that didn’t hold you back because I LOVE your stories!

Leave a Reply

