Romance Writers Ink Retreat

Last month RWI held our annual retreat and as our guest speaker, had Jean Brashear from Austin, TX. I’d never met Jean before and found her to be an absolute delight! She fit in with us so well I could’ve sworn she was a member of our chapter. Here’s Jean sharing her knowledge with us.

Jean Brashear

Don’t you just love it when you meet someone like that? My only regret is that she lives so far away and ISN’T a member of the chapter.

Marilyn, Jean, Linda

When we have a retreat, we try to go out of town – someplace fairly secluded – so so we can concentrate on our writing. And did we ever! Even after we concluded the workshops, we didn’t talk about families (much :-)), the day jobs or anything else. We immersed ourselves in all things writing related. Exactly what we wanted.

We have some new members who are just starting their writing careers, and I have to tell you, they were like sponges! They wanted to know everything. The neat thing about our chapter is the more experienced writers are more than willing to help the newbies. After all, it wasn’t that long ago that I was one of those sponges, trying to learn as much as I could as fast as I could. It’s always nice to be able to pay it forward even as I’m still learning myself.

Here’s a picture of most of the gang. We should’ve gotten a picture Saturday afternoon when a couple of the other members were there. But here we are.

back: JB Maxwell, Jean Brashear, Susan Shay, Marilyn Pappano, Anne Mathews, Jackie Kramer. front: Marion Grace, Linda Trout, Lynn Somerville

I’m already looking forward to next years’ retreat. Wish you could be there, too.

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in A Writers LIfe, Jean Brashear, Romance Writers, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Romance Writers Ink Retreat

  1. Marilyn says:

    It was one of the best ever. Jean was perfect, and so was the company, food, and location. Loved it.

    • Linda says:

      It WAS a good retreat, wasn’t it?! I hated to see the weekend end. And it almost didn’t. I think the manager of that place was getting ready to run us out. LOL

  2. And I felt like I’d found family I just hadn’t met yet! Thank you for the wonderful comments…you all deserve the praise. You are SUCH a great group!

  3. P S Go Cowboys! Good luck this weekend! (Don’t tell my Sooner family members I said that. 😉 Not that they probably don’t suspect it!)

    • Linda says:

      Sshhh. I promise not to tell. I don’t think we have very many in my family who are Sooner fans. But whoever they are, they’re definitely out numbered!

Leave a Reply

