Veteran’s Day

Seems like just yesterday it was veteran’s day. (Actually, 3 weeks ago.) Every year on November 11th I’d spend my lunch hour out on the street watching the Veteran’s Day Parade and cheering for the men and women who have served our great nation. My husband is a retired Marine and I like to show my support. Since I’m no longer working, I didn’t get to do that this year. 😦

However, there was another celebration going on that touched me even more personally. My father is a WWII Vet and he was honored by the Fort Gibson, OK school system in their Veteran’s Day ceremony.

Dad's Army picture

His great-great niece helped present him with a wreath as the entire auditorium stood and applauded. It brought tears to my eyes. (Still does.)

BG Perry 11-11-11

Budo G. Perry is 88 years old. He was one of the youngest men in his unit and was an anti-aircraft gunner. i.e. he shot down planes. The ole country boy was pretty good, too. He served in 6 different campaigns and spent 3 years overseas before finally coming home with the Purple Heart.

He has a harder time getting around now, but his spirit is just as strong as ever. I’m extremely proud of my father for not only serving our country, but for being my dad. He’s a great role model and I love him dearly.

He's overwhelmed

May God bless all the veteran’s and God Bless America!

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Veteran’s Day

  1. Marilyn says:

    Aw, Linda, how wonderful for your dad to be honored like that. Give him a hug and a salute from me next time you see him.

    • Linda says:

      Thanks, Marilyn. He initially didn’t want to get up in front of all those people, especially since he needs a walker most of the time now. But he made it up there on his own. Now he’s extremely glad he allowed the people in the town where he grew up to honor him. And I will give him a big hug next time I see him.

  2. Susan Shay says:

    What a nice looking guy, Linda. Just guessing here, but from knowing you, I’d say he’s probably a wonderful man.
    I’m glad he allowed them to honor him. We need more heroes for our kids to idolize. Most of the ones they have now are just yucky!

    • Linda says:

      Thank you, Susan. He is a pretty nice guy. I ‘like’ him anyway. hehe
      I think it’s really important for the young people to know and appreciate those that have made major sacrifices for our country. The people that served in WWII are prime examples. I always loved seeimg entire classes from schools at the Veteran’s Day parades. They’d wave their flags and applaude everyone as they came by. ESPECIALLY the WWII Vet’s that walked the entire parade route. Special special men.

Leave a Reply

