Surprises

Just when you think you have someone figured out, after decades of marriage, and they go and surprise you.

Yesterday my hubby suddenly announced he’d ordered something and had forgotten to pick it up. Did I want to go with him? (I had no clue what he was talking about and he didn’t offer any hints.) Um, no. I had other things to do. So off he goes. I figured it was just here in town, but 2 hours later he still wasn’t home. I was getting worried.

He finally pulls into the drive, admitting he’d gone to Tulsa. Yes, there’d been an accident – a 4 car pile-up – but luckily he wasn’t involved. Still didn’t tell me what he’d gone after. Whatever.

An hour later, while sitting in our recliners, he hands me an unwrapped small box. “It’s a really late Christmas and New Year’s present,” he states. What in the world? I pull the lid off, and there I find a silver business card case with what looks like wood and Mother of Pearl along the lower edge.

My name is engraved on the top.

My heart does a little flutter. How sweet. And thoughtful! He just sits there grinning, not saying much.

As most women do when buying a new purse, I have to look inside. Heck, I know it’s empty, but have to look anyway. Boy, was I surprised!

Engraved on the underside of the lid is: Grave Secrets, then Alaska Heat.

(The story I just sold and the one I’m polishing before I submit it for consideration.) THAT’S when I went all gushy!  Getting a card case is one thing. Having the names of my stories engraved on it is just SOOO romantic!

I still smile as I think about his thoughtfulness, even if he did forget about the gift after he’d bought it. Silly man. 🙂

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in A Writers LIfe, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Surprises

  1. How very sweet of him!! I do think you have a keeper Linda!

    • Linda says:

      That was sweet. He told me he didn’t think it was terribly romantic, just thoughtful. Kinda equates to the same thing for me. And yeah, think I’ll keep him. 😉

  2. Marie Branscum says:

    How very thoughtful of him. guess you had better’d keep him

  3. Sharon Ervin says:

    No wonder you’ve kept him around for decades. Good catch.

    • Linda says:

      Decades. Boy, that makes me feel old. But it HAS been a while. Life just keeps getting better and better.

      It was good chatting with you, Sharon. Oh, and happy belated birthday!

  4. Meg says:

    Linda–
    How awesome! He’s a good man.

    • Linda says:

      Yeppers, he is. He dropped everything to spend the day with me yesterday. As payback (and with my blessing) ,he’s taken the ATV and gone to the woods…where he likes to goof off. hehe

  5. Jeannie says:

    It’s nice to find another “Okie” writer on WP. We’re transplanted in Colorado now but Oklahoma is home. A very good friend of mine, Judy Goodspeed, is writing her out there in OKlahoma and just published yet another book.

    Your husband sounds like a keeper to me! Good luck on your new book. 🙂

    • ltrout says:

      Hi, Jeannie! Yes, I think I’ll keep my hubby. 🙂 And thanks for the good wishes on my book.

      Where are you in Colorado? We were out there in December for our anniversary and stayed at the Stanley Hotel in Estes Park. Had a great time.

      I’ll have to look up Judy’s books. I love talking to other writers. No one else seems to ‘get’ me. Can’t imagine why. {snort}

Leave a Reply

