Perspective

There are a number of ways you can interpret the title of this blog. Perspectives could be referring to the characters POV or how they look at things within the story. But not in this case. I’m talking about how we manage, or look at, our individual writing techniques.

Up until recently, I judged how much writing I’d done each day by my word count. As a retired accountant, I’m pretty much fanatical about numbers. (Not math, mind you. Just numbers. 😉 ) I have a handy-dandy spreadsheet so all I have to do is plug in the total word count for the entire manuscript, and it calculates the net number of words I wrote that day. I know I’m not the only one to do this. Am I right?

However, since I’ve gone through the editing process (albeit only once), I now look at my manuscript a bit differently. Now I look at the scene as a whole. Is it working? Does it flow well? Is it moving the story along? Unfortunately, I don’t think it is with my current WIP. But I digress. Yes, now I look at the entire scene and I’m no longer number crunching. Which is both good and bad.

It’s good in that I’m looking at the overall picture. It’s bad in that you have to have the word count up there in order to sell the story. If you don’t have the required number of words for your target publisher, or if you have too many words, you’ll have to go back and adjust accordingly. I found on Grave Secrets, the number of words I cut (bad/poor writing) were offset my new (and better) words. i.e. I clarified scenes. Which is probably what led me to my current style. Of course, I’m in a revising stage. If I were writing the first draft, I’d be back to crunching those numbers.

Hmm. I guess once a bean counter, always a bean counter. 🙂

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in A Writers LIfe, Romance Writers, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

