Fear Factor

What’s your deepest, darkest fear? Riding in elevators, spiders, black cats, snakes, heights? I know there’s something that causes your heart to pound as you break out in a cold sweat.

We all have fears of one sort or another. Some fears worse than others. I have a couple that are starting to crawl up my back and I know I’m going to have to face them. Soon. So far I’ve been doing a Scarlet O’Hara thing and ignoring them…until another day. But I’m running out of those.

What, pray tell, is my worst fear? {{Gulp}} Standing up in front of a group and making a fool of myself.

I mentioned this to a friend just the other day, and she gave me some good advice. Face it head on. She’s had to face one of her worst fears recently…an extreme (i.e.  paralyzing) fear of water. As part of her job requirements, she had to re-qualify for a simulated plane crash in the water. Through sheer will power and determination, she did it. But it wasn’t easy.

She got through her greatest fear, and I’ll get through mine. I’ll simply emulate her and do it by sheer will power and determination. (I’m nothing if not stubborn. 🙂 ) But man, giving a talk to a group of people, all ‘staring’ at me, then taking questions, makes me shake in my boots. Actually, it’s the questions part that gets to me. What if I say something stupid? Make a fool of myself? Stammer and stutter like a nimrod? {sigh}

One of my options is to prepare the best talk I can, think of all possible questions (hopefully) and come up with knowledgeable answers beforehand. If all else fails, I’ll just laugh at myself. Hey, you can’t laugh AT me if I’m already laughing at myself. Then your only option is to laugh WITH me. Right? 😉

Come on. Fess up to your greatest fear, and how did you overcome it? Any suggestions that might help me overcome mine will be greatly appreciated.

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in A Writers LIfe, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

