AHA Moments

We’ve all had them. Those moments when we feel as if a light bulb has come on and we can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel. But what about the times when you WISH you had an AHA moment and can’t find one to save your life? You know what I mean. When you’re sitting there staring at your WIP, scratching your head trying to figure out how to fix that pile of garbage staring back at you from the computer screen.

That’s pretty much where I’ve been. I knew what I’d written wasn’t working…it didn’t feel ‘right.’ i.e. it sucked pond water! I wrote an outline of the entire book, hoping to see what the problem was.

Didn’t work.

Then I decided to do a quick and dirty outline with just the bare facts. My ten page outline became two. My problem was, I’d gotten stuck on chapter ten and wasn’t sure how to proceed. But when I cut it down to just the two pages, I FINALLY had that AHA moment! Woot!

Now I can see what I’ve done wrong and what I need to do to fix my baby. Seems so simple. (Yeah, now!) I couldn’t see the forest for the trees. And since the last part of my book takes place IN a forest, I really was lost. 🙂

Do you have any tricks to get yourself out of a rut, to find your AHA moment? Critique partners? Meditation? Medication? Booze? Come on. Tell me what your secret is. Next time I’m stuck, it might just be what I need because I have faith that what worked for me this time, won’t the next. *sigh*

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in A Writers LIfe, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to AHA Moments

  1. Meg says:

    I’ve done what you did–plot points, but I also gave it to fresh eyes. Worked well for me.
    Glad you found your way out of the forest.

    • ltrout says:

      Thanks, Meg. Getting out of that forest without a compass definitely was a challenge. Wouldn’t it be nice if we had a detailed roadmap to start with? Oh, wait. Then writing wouldn’t be any fun, would it? 😉

  2. bflyzone says:

    I go walking with Aric. We have this little trail that is around a lake in my town. It is 3.5 mile and it takes about an hour to get around. We will walk and walk and walk until we get the next part of the story hammered out. It usually takes about 1 lap, but if we need more thinking time, we take the long trail around town. Only needed to do that once, but it had me set for about a month. I like to walkatate…or meditate while walking…the trail keeps me from getting ran over. HA HA. Nothing gets my words going like a nice walk and nice long book discussion.

    • ltrout says:

      Thanks for stopping by blyzone.

      Long walks are always good. Especially if you can get out of town, and sounds like you can.

      Walkatate. I LIKE that term! And you don’t have to worry about not seeing a red light while you’re plotting. Cool beans! 🙂

Leave a Reply

