Bang, bang!

I write suspense. Y’all know that. But while reading a black ops book, I got to thinking about how the authors come up with the great storylines. You know, the ones that keep you turning the pages in spite of the fact you need some sleep, or (worse) work on your own story, because you’re so enthralled.

I wonder how they come up with the action…the danger they put their hero and heroine through. And how do they learn about the weapons? How to strap them onto the body, etc.? I guess you could say I’m jealous. I LOVE these types of stories, but I don’t seem to be able to write them. Grrr. I can come up with suspense. But it’s light compared to these.

Maybe one of these days, if I work hard enough, if I study the different authors enough, I can come close to what they’ve already achieved.  In the meantime, I’ll keep plugging away at my own stories. There’s danger. But it doesn’t fill every page. My tendency is to focus more on the romance than the intrigue. Which is okay. Really, it is. There’s definitely a market for that, too. (Yah.)

But I sure like to read the bang, bang, shoot ‘em ups. 🙂

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in A Writers LIfe, Romance Writers, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

