Last Lines

I’ve seen blogs about first lines of a book and how they have to pull the reader into the story from the get-go. I just finished reading a novella and the last line of the last story struck a chord with me. The line was:

“…you could accomplish anything – if only you believed.” The story was PAINKILLERS in KICK @$$ and the author is Jacey Ford. I have to admit I hadn’t read any of her work before (too many good authors, not nearly enough time in the day), but I loved the message she presented. Which was (obviously) if you believe in yourself enough, you can do anything.

I needed to see/hear that bit of advice right now. As my debut novel is scheduled for release August 3rd, I need to believe I can do a blog tour, set up personal signings, give talks and interviews, come up with witty lines to write on the inside of the book during signings, remember the names of people I haven’t seen in years (or decades) and the list goes on. I just need to believe that I can accomplish all those things and do them well. I have to if I want to promote my book. And I do. I love this story and I think everyone else will, too.

Okay. I have to admit this blog is a pep talk to myself. But that’s all right. I figured if I could use a pick-me-up, so could others out there in cyber land.

Don’t forget, sometimes it isn’t the first line in your story that the reader will remember, but the last. Choose your words wisely.

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in A Writers LIfe, Romance Writers, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

