Release Date Sneaking Up on Me

It’s almost here! The release of my debut novel, GRAVE SECRETS, will be Friday, August 3rd. Squeeeee!! My first book signing will be the next day at the Q B Boydston Public Library in Fort Gibson, OK from 11-1. If you’re in the area, stop by and say hello. If you can’t be there physically, then send me a mental ‘Hi’. I’m sure I’ll feel it. 😉

Here’s a little teaser from the book. Enjoy.

 

Sara’s world tilted. Her heart refused to beat. “Kaycee.” The word was little more than a whimper as she lunged for the grave’s edge.

Hands of steel grabbed her arms, stopping her from tumbling into the opening. She struggled to get free. Twisting, she found herself almost nose to nose with Daniels. “Let me go. I have to…I have to go to…”

She had to reach her child—had to hold her. She could still hear her daughter’s gurgles of joy during her bath, smell the baby lotion, recall the hours of rocking her and singing lullabies each night. Even the two o’clock feedings had never been a chore. Motherhood had settled over Sara like a soft blanket of snow that covered the land…quiet, peaceful, comforting.

It completed her.

Sara pushed against Daniels’ chest. She didn’t want to be touched…didn’t want to be here anymore. His arms were now wrapped around her body and refused to yield. She squeezed her eyes closed.

Despite her attempt to ward off the images of what they’d just found, they crept into her consciousness, seeping into every pore in her body. Overwhelming—overtaking. Her hands shook as bile climbed the back of her throat. Her chest constricted. She couldn’t breathe. When black dots danced before her eyes, she welcomed them—embraced them. And prayed once she entered the dark hole, she could keep going. A roar filled her ears as her legs buckled, and she began the descent into blessed oblivion.

 

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in A Writers LIfe, Romance Writers, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Release Date Sneaking Up on Me

  1. Oh, very nice. Can’t wait to read it.

    • ltrout says:

      I can’t wait for you to read it, either. Actually, I can’t wait to hold the book in my hands. When they arrive, I bet you’ll be able to hear me squealing from all the way up here. 😉

Leave a Reply

