Launch Parties

I am SO behind in keeping you updated on what’s been happening in my world. Probably because I’ve been writing blogs for my blog tour as well as for the Writing Sluts blog, editing, writing, etc, etc. I know. That’s no excuse!

On Saturday the 3rd, I had my debut book signing in the library ‘back home’ and had a lot of people show up to see what I had to offer. Normally, I like to sit in the back of the room and observe. Um, not gonna’ happen here. I stood up in front of everyone, gave a nice little talk about my writing journey and signed books for family and friends. One super sweet cousin drove SIX HOURS to help me celebrate. Bless her heart!

Okay, I’ll admit I’d told her I’d bake her favorite cookies if she’d come, but she never responded to me. I mean, it’s a 6 hour drive for goodness sake. I squealed when I saw her get out of the car!

I received some gorgeous flowers from Marilyn, Susan & Jackie (who couldn’t be there),  had sister writers there to cheer me on  and even had my mother-in-law and step-mom there for support (despite the awful heat).

This is my beautiful sister who is the best (unpaid) publicist EVER! These are all my siblings. It’s nice to have family backing you.

I think this is my favorite picture…of Daddy giving me a hug.

I had a wonderful day!! Actually, I think I was floating on air most of the time. 😉

Then, on the 11th, we had a private party at Kathlyn’s home. Just us Smart Women. Had pizza and CAKE! Isn’t that fantastic? It tasted pretty darned good, too.

Signed a few copies of my book, chatted with the ladies who give me strength and energy just being around them, received a card and plant from Ashlynn and went home sorry the day had to end.

You have your first book only once, and these ladies wanted to make sure it was special for me. They have no idea how they touch my heart and soul. Their kindness and thoughtfulness will forever be a part of my life. I look forward to the day when I can pay it forward to another member of the group when she sells her first book and has her own book launch. Because now I know how much it will mean to them.

My next book signing will be at Steve’s Sundries in Tulsa on August 25th from 1-3 pm. Drop by if you’re in the area. I’d love to see you!

Linda Trout

Buy Links:

The Wild Rose Press

Amazon

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in A Writers LIfe, Publishing, Romance, Romance Writers, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Launch Parties

  1. You are having the time of your life and you should. You deserve every bit of it. You rock!

    • ltrout says:

      Thanks, Ash! I am having the time of my life. Gee, if I’d known how much fun this would be, maybe I would’ve pushed a little harder before. 🙂 Then again, maybe not. There’s an awful lot of WORK in writing and marketing a book. But then if it were easy, there wouldn’t be any reason to celebrate the results. Right?

      Thank you for all the encouragement and help you gave me along the way!

  2. txsunshine says:

    Awww, this post made me cry. I’m so happy you’re enjoying yourself. You seemed very sweet when I met you a few years ago, and you deserve your success!

    • ltrout says:

      Julie, I didn’t mean to make you cry. But they’re tears of joy so that’s okay. 😉 I’ve had a blast doing the signings and telling everyone I meet about my book. (I ALWAYS have a bookmark handy!)

      Thanks for stopping by. Maybe we’ll run into each other again one of these days.

Leave a Reply

