Book Festival & New Writing Project

I had a great time last Saturday at the WordWeavers and Bartlesville Library Into the Book Festival. Met some nice people, both readers and writers, and sold a couple books. I never thought I’d sell a lot there. After all, it was the very first book festival for them and it takes time for a following of people to build. I wanted to attend to make new friends and I think I did. One of the best things about being a writer is networking, talking to people from different areas and (just maybe) come up with new story ideas.

The other thing that’s going on in my life at the moment is I’m working with five other writers on an anthology. The stories will all be romance, but each one will be a different sub-genre. There will be a contemporary, inspirational, historical, nostalgic, paranormal and suspense.

Guess which one I’m writing. Go ahead…guess. I know you’re having a hard time pinning it down, so I’ll go ahead and tell you…it’s the suspense. (Surprise!) They had to force me to take that one, you know {cough, snort}, and I had such a HARD time coming up with the storyline. Har. Suffice it to say, it’s fast paced and there’s a villain. The hero and heroine are star-crossed lovers who finally meet up again.

That’s all the hints you get. Hopefully, the publisher will like all of the stories and run with the project. I’m excited about this and can’t wait for the finished product.

I have a bit of bad news. We lost Dusty, our 7 year old tomcat, last Saturday afternoon. 😦 Silly thing ventured onto the other side of the highway and chose the wrong time to cross coming back. He was the ‘protector’ and ran off other cats and various varmints. This was ‘his’ turf so everyone else could just leave.

Sure am going to miss him. So is Kid, the younger tom. Kid would run and jump on Dusty, rough housing as tomcats do. Neither of the females appreciate it when Kid tumbles them. *sigh* They just don’t know how to play right. Poor Kid. BUT, we are NOT getting another tomcat to take Dusty’s place just so Kid will have a playmate. Yeah, I’m mean, aren’t I? He’ll adapt to being the only tomcat, as will I.

That’s it for today. Y’all have a good one.

Linda

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in A Writers LIfe, Publishing, Romance, Romance Writers, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Festival & New Writing Project

  1. Marilyn says:

    Linda, so sorry about your cat!

    Glad you had a good time at the festival, though, and good luck with the anthology and everything else!

    • Linda says:

      Thanks, Marilyn. I’m still looking for him out there, late in the evenings when he’d come up to lay on the porch. But….

      I did have a good time at the festival, Saturday. But then, I don’t meet too many ‘strangers.’ LOL

  2. So sorry about dusty. 😦 I know how it is to lose a family member.

    Glad the festival went well, and can’t wait to read your next book!!!

Leave a Reply

