Suspense vs Humor

I got my hair cut the other day and, as usual, was talking to my hair dresser about my books and writing in general. She asked if I’d ever written anything that was funny.

Wait. What?

I’m not funny. In fact, I think of myself as rather stilted and flat. But…come to think of it, I do like to make people laugh and feel good about themselves. And when I worked at the day job, I’d send instant messages and emails with snarky tones in them to my friends.

The problem is, when I sit down to write blogs, I automatically turn into business mode. You know what I’m talking about…dry, rather boring. Don’t know why I do that, I just do.

So tell me, if I do decide to try and write funny, do you have any suggestions for me? Any helpful hints to turn off that ‘boring the peewaddings out of the readers’ mode that I have a tendency to slip into whether I intend to or not?

However, I’ve used that aspect of myself to draw on the suspenseful and mysterious side that continues to lurk within me. That little critter can’t be muzzled (apparently!) because no matter what I try to write, a bad guy always shows up.

Out of the blue.

Without being asked.

Sheesh

Maybe I could write about a bad guy who’s also a comic and uses his constant joking to throw the police off the track. Probably been done to death a thousand times, though. *sigh*

I suppose I need to simply relax and let the ‘inner’ me out to play. Hmm. Play. Maybe that’s the problem…I think of this as work. Granted its work I really enjoy, but work all the same. Now if I could just get that ‘goof off’ meter working, and still crank out the words, I’d be fine.

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in A Writers LIfe, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Suspense vs Humor

  1. I’ll right away snatch your rss feed as I can’t to find your email subscription
    link or newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly permit
    me realize so that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

  2. ludd49 says:

    Is it a situation you find genuinely funny? Human beings tend to fall short a lot of the time: it could make you sad, I suppose. That, too. Try taking your bad guy a little less seriously – perhaps focus on his self delusions or self-importance or his mawkish aspirations. Otherwise he’ll become unconsciously funny, like that bloke in 50 Shades of Beige.

Leave a Reply

