Are You Knowledgeable?

How much do you know and do you know you know it?

For some of us, the answer to that question is quite simple. Of course we know what we know. But are you sure? Recently a friend asked me to read her manuscript to see if the characters seemed real, to see if the storyline flowed and that she didn’t have her characters doing something out of character. Sure, I replied. I’d love to.

I didn’t know the story was over 100,000 words long!

That’s okay. I’ve been telling her she needed to write fiction but she’d proclaimed she didn’t have time. Guess maybe I’d planted a bug and she finally decided to see where this story that’s been floating around in her head for years would go.

I wasn’t sure I’d be able to give her quality feedback. Despite the fact I’m published, in some ways, I still don’t feel all that accomplished as a writer. Still, I told her I’d give her an honest critique and so I would. Mind you, she asked for my brutal honestly. Okie, dokie. Will do. {evil grin}

I have to tell you, I enjoyed reading through a story I’ve never seen before from beginning to end and finding all the places where the story popped and where it fell flat. Part of this ability came from my wonderful critique partners and part from my editor with The Wild Rose Press. In fact, I hadn’t realized I knew so much until I started going through my friends story. Guess I was just emulating what I have been shown previously.

My hubby was appalled at what all I told her needed to be fixed. But she wasn’t. In fact, she thanked me for the slice and dice. 🙂 Said the places where I had problems were also places where she’d had a problem but didn’t know how to fix it. (I gave her LOTS of pointers and suggestions to consider.)

Sometimes, that’s all we need. Someone to point out the little things and give us a gentle shove in a new or different direction.

I’m glad I was able to help my friend and I sincerely hope that one day I’ll see her book published. It’s a great read!

So I guess I actually knew more than what I thought I did. Ya’ learn something new every day. 😉

 

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in A Writers LIfe, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

