Disaster in Oklahoma

It’s springtime, which means bad weather. Oklahoma has had more than its fair share over the last couple of days. If you haven’t heard the news about the tornado’s that hit us, turn on the news. Even national media have sent crews to Moore to cover the devastating damage.

It looks like a war zone out there.

I won’t post pictures. I’ve seen enough. Buildings and homes reduced to rubble. Vehicles tossed around like matchsticks. People and animals buried alive under the debris. Last night over a hundred people were pulled from what was left of their homes. Thankfully they were alive! I know a lot of prayers were answered.

However, others weren’t as lucky. So far, as of this writing, the confirmed death toll is 24. I pray this doesn’t change. But I don’t know if everyone has been accounted for or if there are people out there whom they haven’t found yet. Trapped. If so, I pray for their recovery.

There was another tornado on Sunday that struck the town of Shawnee. Lives were lost there, too. Homes and businesses destroyed. People’s everyday and ordinary worlds changed in a matter of minutes. Just like it did for those living in the Moore and Oklahoma City areas.

I don’t live anywhere close to the areas affected by Sunday and Monday’s tornados. Nor will I be traveling there. I have no skills that would help in the recovery efforts and I’d just be in the way. My heart is there, though. I’m praying for all the people affected, for those who are doing the search and rescue, and for those who are working hard to restore some of the services we each take for granted. i.e. electricity, water, phone, etc.

We can each still help by donating to the Red Cross, the Salvation Army, and a multitude of agencies (including animal rescue) that will be there to help with immediate needs. I’m not going to list them here but you need to check out the validity of them. Unfortunately, there are people who jump at the opportunity to scam others out of their money during times like these and take advantage of those who can least afford it.

PLEASE keep all the people who have been directly impacted by the storms in your thoughts and prayers. Oklahoma appreciates you.

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Disaster in Oklahoma

  1. Susan Shay says:

    All the destruction and loss of life makes it hard to breathe, doesn’t it, Linda? I can only handle so much and then I have to turn to something else. Something that gives me a lift.
    My heart just aches for the people in central Oklahoma. I’m praying with you.

  2. Marilyn says:

    Me, too.

  3. Linda Trout says:

    Susan, I hadn’t thought about the destruction making it hard to breathe, but you’re right. Yet, like moths to a flame, everytime I turn on the TV I’m drawn to the images…to the stories…to the heartbreak…and yes, to the joy when someone finds a missing family member or pet. Miracles have happened.

  4. Meg says:

    I am just heartsick over this. Don helped with the 1999 tornado. Sometimes, I just understand why bad things happen to good people. My prayers are with all who’ve been affected.

    • Linda Trout says:

      Meg, we can’t control Mother Nature, but we can do our best to help those who have been devastated by Her fury. I saw a cute picture on Facebook today. A man stood in front of a pile of rubble that was his home. He had a sign that read:

      FOR SALE…PRICE REDUCED…SOME ASSEMBLY REQUIRED

      I love his sense of humor.

Leave a Reply

