Writers Academy and RWA13

Last month I attended the WTAMU Writers Academy and it was AWESOME! Yes, that’s an overused word, yes, it’s a cliché. But folks, there isn’t any other way of saying how great it was for me.

I have to admit, I didn’t do very well last year. My fault. My head wasn’t in it. This year? Whole different story! I took Alexandra Sokoloff’s class again.

DSCN0665_747

Only this time I was excited about my story idea going in. I didn’t have a lot of the plot, and of course, several things changed before we were done plotting. But that’s why I coughed up good money to go…to find out what worked and what didn’t. I have to tell you, I am SUPER excited about this story! Now all I have to do is get it written.

By the time we were through going through my story on Wednesday and Thursday I didn’t even want to stay for the rest of the class…I wanted to go WRITE! But I didn’t. The whole point of the class was to not only get input from the instructor, but from other class members…a give and take, if you will.

For those of you who know me, you know I’m not much of a plotter. So to be able to walk away after (basically) four days with a complete plot line is practically unthinkable. I did it, though. So did every other person in the class. Alex paid us the biggest compliment when she said every single story was viable and marketable. Woot!!

DSCN0655_738

Here we all are the last day. Alex is next to me with blond hair. Notice there’s only one guy in our class. Bless his heart, he didn’t turn beat red when we talked about hot flashes, etc. {snort}

DSCN0662_745

This is a wonderful (and forever) friend, Jolene Navarro and her daughter, Storm. Jolene’s 1st book will be out this October through Harlequin Love Inspired. I KNOW it’s great! Storm writes paranormal and has a bit of a different twist on angels and demons. Can’t wait to read the finished product.

I’ve already dove into the writing full speed and making great progress. We’ll see just how fast I can write a complete manuscript. Keep your fingers crossed while I try to type mine off. 😉

This week I’ll be attending RWA’s National Conference in Atlanta. Haven’t been in a few years so I’m looking forward to spending time with a couple thousand other romance writers. This will be so invigorating! And of course I plan to come home with a ton of books to add to my already tall TBR list.

Maybe I’ll see you rushing from one workshop to another, or at one of the luncheons, or even Saturday night amongst all the glitz and glitter. Hope so!! It’ll be exhausting, but OH so worthwhile. 🙂

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in A Writers LIfe, Publishing, Romance, Romance Writers, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writers Academy and RWA13

  1. winonabennettcross says:

    Very nice post! We all left Alex’s class with a sense of ability. And, the best thing of all was the beginning on new friendships. Enjoy RWA!!!!

  2. One of the most unexpected things that has happened on this writer’s journey is the incredible friendships I have formed. In our normal lives you and I would have never met. Now your one of my dearest friends. This has been a life changing class for me in more than one way. Are you going to Houston for the Lone Star conference? You can fill me on one all the details of RWA. Can’t wait to read you book.

    • Linda Trout says:

      I agree, Jolene. The friendships I’ve formed via my writing journey are….. dang, I can’t even think of the right word. (Bad, Linda, bad.) But I feel as if this is a sisterhood that only writing sisters can appreciate or understand. It’s weird how fast you and I became friends, too. I fully believe that we were meant to meet. Reconnecting in this years class was icing on the cake for me.

      I’m not sure if I’m going to Houston or not. Maybe I should just call you to give you all the details of RWA. 😉

      I can’t wait to read Lone Star Holiday, either. Now, that’s an October release date with Harlequin Love Inspired, right?

Leave a Reply

