In The Name of Research

We took a trip to Arkansas yesterday, doing research on where my make-believe town in my latest WIP might be set (it takes place in the Ozark Mountains). By Jove I think I found it, too! Woot!

The weather was perfect, clear blue skies, a light breeze and in the 70’s. After I found the general location of where I wanted my town located, my hubby continued on my previously determined route. But I decided I had what I needed and that we could turn around and go back the way we’d come so we pulled over. He checked the map then proceeded to back into the driveway (where we pulled over) to turn around. Only he hadn’t pulled up as far as he thought he had and when he backed up, missed the driveway. Completely. Ugh

Have you ever had a moment in time when you’re so shocked that you don’t immediately react? Yeah, that was us. We wound up with the left back tire hanging in midair. Can you tell in this picture?

DSCN1065_805

Here’s a closer look.

DSCN1067_807

Even though the car is front-wheel drive, there was too much weight on the backside (hanging downhill I might add) to get any traction.

And we were at least 4 miles out of town!

God must have been watching over us because a truck stopped. It was an Arkansas Highway and Transportation Department truck. Bless the guys heart. He didn’t have a chain or straps with him, so he drove to the other side of town to their office, then came back and pulled us out. It didn’t need a lot, just a little umph. There wasn’t any damage to the car. Considering it was a concrete ditch and we were on the edge of the culvert, we were extremely lucky.

So here’s a big THANK YOU Chris for taking the time to stop and help someone in need!! Without your assistance, I’m not sure what we would’ve done. I commend the AR Highway & Transportation Dept for their kind and exemplary employees!

BUT, I got what I needed for my research. We made it home in one piece and now have a story to tell about how that ditch just jumped up and grabbed the backend of our car. (Darned old ditch! 😉 )

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in A Writers LIfe, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In The Name of Research

  1. Those ditches can be murder! (Pun intended.) Hugs.

  2. Cousin Marcy says:

    Wish I had known you were going to be in Boone County. I might have figured out a way to have gone with y’all. I could have shown you the road down thru Madison County where your Perry ancestors came from.

    • Linda Trout says:

      We never made it into Boone County, Marcy. Spent most of the time In Newton County and, of course, went through Madison County via Hwy 412.
      Guess next time we can go down to Perry or Perryman in Perry County. Think we’d find some relatives down that way? 😉

Leave a Reply

