Blog Hopping Here

Jackie King, cozy mystery author extraordinaire, has tagged me in a Baton Blog Hop: basically a game of tag for writers. The idea is to answer four questions about your writing, then tag another author to do the same. But first you need to know about her blogsite, http://bnbmysteries.blogspot.com 1501814_331839500287485_1614647572_n[1]

In Jackie’s latest book, THE INCONVENIENT CORPSE, Grace Cassidy finds herself in a world she never thought she’d be in…unwillingly single, no money, and away from home. That isn’t the worst. When she finds a naked body in her bed at the B&B where she’s staying and then it disappears, she wonders if she’s losing her mind. I can’t wait for the sequel, THE DISAPPEARING CORPSE, to be released and follow the next stage of Grace’s life.

Now for those questions…

What am I working on?
I just finished the edits for my next release, LAST HOPE ALASKA, which will be out August 20th from the Wild Rose Press. I’m refining a short story titled THE GARRISON, which is set in Fort Gibson, the oldest town in Oklahoma, where the hero is looking for his past and the heroine keeps being thwarted from the future she had so carefully crafted.

In addition, I’m knee deep in writing TANGLED PROMISES. It’s about a small town in Arkansas where the heroine is stuck in limbo, the hero (and new sheriff in town) only wants to work his way back to the Chicago police department, and a stalker who is a chameleon plots to throw everyone’s lives into turmoil.

How does my work differ from others in its genre?
Like most writers, my work is different from others in the genre simply because of my own unique voice. Give five people who write romantic suspense a premise and you’ll get five completely different stories in return. We each bring our own history and culture to the table when we sit down to write. I think it’s true when they say we put a little bit of ourselves into every story we write. I know I do. Or at least I add in what I’d “like” to be into the story. 

Why do I write what I do?
I don’t follow the trends as to what’s popular and selling at the moment. If I did that then the story wouldn’t be from my heart and I feel we should all write from our hearts each and every time we sit down to create. I’m a romantic, I suppose I always have been, and I love seeing the hero and heroine have their happily ever after at the end of the book. That said I also like to see drama, twists, and turns along the way – hence the suspense.

How does my writing process work?
Honestly, my writing has been a hodge-podge up to this point. My first three manuscripts were written by the seat of my pants and took forever to write. The last one, however, I actually plotted. Funny thing, that. I never thought I’d be any good at plotting but with the current book, I find it’s working fairly well. If I get stuck on a scene I simply jump to a scene where I know exactly where it’s going and write that. Which makes me a quilter (where you write scenes out of order then insert into the story where they most belong). Of course, I have that outline that I keep close by for reference and it keeps me on track.

Who knows how the next story will materialize. Hopefully the process will become easier – i.e. I’ll get better – and the story will come together much quicker than it has in the past.

That’s all I have. I’m tagging two multi-published and very talented ladies for next week. Susan Shay has entertained the world with three wonderfully crafted books (from cowboys to psychic’s to werewolves). No matter what she produces, I know she’ll keep me spellbound. href=”https://ltrout.files.wordpress.com/2013/11/image007.jpg”>image007

http://smalltownworld.wordpress.com

Jolene Navarro writes heart-rendering stories for Harlequin Love Inspired line, with her second book in the series due out August 2nd. Set in a small Texas town, Jolene introduces us to flawed characters who must redeem themselves in order to find their HEA.
51oqG+T5lcL._AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-50,22_AA300_SH20_OU01_[1]
http://JoleneNavarrowriter.com

I hope you’ll stop by their blogs to see how they write their stories of love and hope.

Happy Writing my Friends!
Linda

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in Romance Writers, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blog Hopping Here

  1. I loved your post! When I read anything you have written, I can see your pretty face, and hear your voice in my head.

    And for anyone reading this, if you haven’t read Linda Trout’s books, you’re missing a treat.

    • Linda Trout says:

      Aw, thank you, Jackie. You’re so sweet. It’s nice to know that I’ve found my ‘voice,’ though. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Hop-Along! | Susan Spess Shay

Leave a Reply

