Who is a Father?

I know Father’s Day has come and gone, but I still wanted to post this. It’s a short note I wrote to my 90 year-old father and I think others will relate.
10479153_782219955146081_4852873208466681946_n[1]
From left to right: Jerry, me, Don, Sue, and Daddy.

I sincerely hope you have/had a father like mine, who has always been there for his children.
Linda

Who is a Father?

A father isn’t just someone who pays the bills.
He isn’t just someone who disciplines the kids.
A father is someone who’s there for his family. To encourage his children to do well in school, to teach them right from wrong, to put wind beneath their wings and teach them they can soar.
And then, give them that shove (gentle or otherwise) to leave the nest and reach for the stars.

A father is those things and more.
He’s a little girls’ first love.
He’s a little boys’ first role model.
He’s a helpmate to his wife.
He’s the example his children look up to.

Daddy, you were always there for us. You taught us how to play basketball and drove us to games. You taught us how to drive a tractor, how to drive a car, how to treat your neighbor and fellow human being (no words were needed), and you taught us how to love. You didn’t say the words a lot while we were growing up…you didn’t need to. You showed us.

You and Mom gave us a moral compass to live by and each one of us lead fuller lives because of that.

I can never thank you enough for all the riches you gave us, for all the little things you did for us throughout the years.

Thank you, Daddy for being YOU.

I love you more than words can say and I’m eternally grateful to have you as my father.
Linda

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in Father's Day and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

