On The Road Again

Frantic packing.

That’s what I’m doing today. What should I take? Am I taking too much? Am I taking enough? Will that cute dress still fit? (No, darn it!) Just where am I going this time, you ask? The RWA National Conference in San Antonio, TX.

I’ll be joining approximately 2,000+ other romance writers for several days of workshops, luncheons, book signings, parties, and other miscellaneous get togethers. Did I mention workshops? TONS of them! About anything you wanted to know about writing. Sounds like the place to be, doesn’t it?

Here I am at last years’ conference in Atlanta after receiving my certificates for being a double finalist in the National Readers’ Choice Award Contest for my debut novel, GRAVE SECRETS.
DSCN0636_756

It’s always good to reconnect with other like-minded people. You know, people who live in their own fantasy worlds and are willing to share those worlds, those characters, with the public in general. People who are so compelled to put pen to paper (okay, fingers to keyboard) that they’d be impossible to live with if they didn’t write. (Um, kinda like me. 😉 )

I’m looking forward to seeing old friends as well as making new ones. Hey, you never know when you’ll meet someone and you’d swear you’d known them all your life. Stranger things have happened.

Well, Tuesday morning will come way too soon so I guess I’d better finish that packing. AFTER I figure out what I’m taking. *s* You know, being a procrastinator isn’t such a good thing. 😦 

I’ll post a few tidbits about the conference next week. Until then, keep cranking out the words if you’re a writer. If not, go buy a book. If you like it, leave a review. It will put a smile on the authors heart. Plus, it’s a great way to pay it forward. 🙂 

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in A Writers LIfe, Romance Writers, Writers Conferences, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On The Road Again

  1. Ashlynn says:

    Have a great time and be safe! Love you girlie!

    • Linda Trout says:

      I’ll do my best to be safe. Having a great time? Oh, that’s a no-brainer. 😀 That said, I’ll probably come home exhausted but with a ton of new info from all the workshops (approx. 150 to chose from plus 18 spotlights on the different publishers. *whew!*)

Leave a Reply

