What’s She Hiding

Today I’m talking to Emily Redfern, the heroine in my Alaskan adventure, LAST HOPE ALASKA. Let’s see what she has to reveal. The woman seems awfully secretive to me.

LT: “Hello, Ms. Redfern. What brought you to Juneau?”
Emily: Looks around nervously. Tucking a strand of hair behind her ear, she looks back at me. “Um, I just thought it would be a neat place to see.”
LT: “Alaska is an expensive state to visit. How long will you be staying?”
Emily: “I haven’t decided. I really like it here, though. The forest is so peaceful and the people are really nice. Kind of like back home.” She tugs her purse closer, as if guarding it.
LT: “And where is that? I don’t recall you saying.”
Emily: Backs up a step. “I need to be going. I promised Molly I’d help with the girls.”
LT: “Just a couple more questions, if you don’t mind. You look like you’re Native American. Do you think that helps you blend in here?”
Emily: “What makes you think I’m trying to blend in?”
LT: “Just a hunch. So you’ve made a few friends in town. Care to elaborate?”
Emily: Relaxes and smiles. “As I said before, the people are great. There’s Molly and her girls, and of course Sam—”
LT: “Ah. So there’s a man involved?”
Emily: Straightens her spine. “There’s always a man. Some who think they own you, some who think they can control you, and some who…” She looks off into the distance, a dreamy expression on her face. Then she blinks and shakes her head. “I’m sorry. I really must be going.”
LT: “Thank you for your time. I’m sure we’ll be hearing more from you later on.”
Emily: “I’m sure you will, whether I like it or not.” She scans the crowds, ducks her head and eases into the sea of people mingling on the streets of downtown Juneau.

Well that was interesting. And a bit confusing. I wonder what her real story is? Guess I’ll have to hang around to find out. Besides, I want to know more about this man she talked about. If he has her looking that love struck, he must be a hunk. I wonder what’s going on with them?

Here’s a blurb about the story. Maybe that’ll give us a few more clues.

Blurb:

Emily Redfern’s ex-fiancé learned to kill on the back streets of New York. Now, she is his target. Broke, exhausted, and a step ahead of the man she once loved, she clings to one last hope: the wilds of Alaska. The quiet safety of her hide-a-way becomes addictive as she grows to care for the man who offers her refuge.

Released from prison after a wrongful conviction, native Alaskan Sam Tarkington is determined to regain his business, repair his reputation, and rebuild his life. But when he meets a desperate and vulnerable woman, guarding secrets of her own, she tugs at his heart. She’s a distraction he can’t afford. Sam must choose Emily or achieving his dreams.

Like Emily’s life, the peacefulness of the wilderness is an illusion as danger lurks in the distance. Does Sam hold the key to her survival or will her past cost them everything?
perf5.000x8.000.indd

Ah. I think I figured it out. What she’s hiding is herself!
Here’s where you can find the book:

TWRP: http://tinyurl.com/ptbzymx
Kindle: http://tinyurl.com/lox33e9
Nook: http://tinyurl.com/pvjncn5
Kobo: http://tinyurl.com/qbe7o2m
iBooks: http://tinyurl.com/oz5dk5l

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in A Writers LIfe, AK, Romance, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s She Hiding

  1. Ashlynn says:

    lol love it. good job. 🙂

Leave a Reply

