Final Farewell

Saying the Final Goodbye

It has been a while since I posted anything here. The last two months have been busy, busy. We got my elderly cousin all settled in her new home (see last post before this one for details) and everything was rocking along just fine. She joined the family for Thanksgiving and Christmas dinners, always having a great time and still driving herself.

The lady on the right is my cousin, Allee.
10429420_890249014340875_2640701858738611616_n[1]

Then she began falling quite a bit at the retirement center. They finally checked her into the hospital close to two weeks ago. Her medical issues started compounding and Sunday, with her niece and my sister by her side, she went home to be with her Lord. Before she died, they talked about some of the old times ~ the good times. It was a peaceful transition.

It is so hard to believe she’s gone. As I said before, she was an inspiration to every woman out there as she always stood on her own two feet and lived life on her terms. She died that way, too.

Someone posted on Facebook that she lived ‘till she died. So true.

Now comes the task of moving her things once again, this time for the last time. Last time it was a transition. What she couldn’t take with her physically, she took with her mentally.

Now the majority of her memories are forever lost to us. Some of them she shared, but of course, not all. She still has them tucked around her, I’m sure. And I’m also sure she’s looking down thinking, “Don’t make such a big deal out of it. It was a great ride, but my life’s over so go on and live yours.”

The women in my family have always been pragmatic about things. Allee Riddle was no different. Still, I’ll miss her.

May God embrace you with His loving arms, Allee. Love you and one day we’ll meet again.
Linda

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Final Farewell

  1. Susan Shay says:

    So sorry about your cousin, Linda. She sounds like quite a woman! Wish I could have known her.

  2. Ashlynn says:

    This was beautiful, Linda. *hugs* You are quite lucky to have those kind of women in your life to look up to.

Leave a Reply

