TRUE LOVE NEVER DIES

You’re young and fall in love, knowing your love will last through the ages. But will it? Perhaps. Perhaps not.

What about when you’re older? Do you think it’s possible to find a forever kind of love? Or would you stop looking and give up, resigned to a life alone?

Suppose for a moment you could find love again. That fresh “I can’t wait to see him/her.” Your heart flutters when they walk in the room. All you want to do is touch them…hold their hand…gaze into their eyes.

I’m here to tell you, it can happen.

It doesn’t matter if you have gray hair, your skin is wrinkled, your eyesight not so good anymore. It doesn’t matter if you need a cane or walker and it takes you longer to take your meds in the morning than to eat your breakfast. All that matters is if your heart skips a beat…not because you need a pacemaker, but because of the way they look at you. As if you’re the only other person on the face of the planet.

This type of love is out there. I know because it happened to my father. After 55 years of marriage my mom passed away. Daddy was so lonely he almost grieved himself to death. Then he found love again. A member of the same church, she was a woman he’d barely noticed before. They have now been married almost 13 years. He was lucky that he found 2 wonderful women to love and cherish him. And he them.

Daddy is now in the hospital and his days are numbered.

Budo and Salena PerryThis picture was taken the day after he was admitted. She’s in a wheelchair and before she left that day she scooted up close to hold his hand. They just sat there like that for a long while, holding hands, gazing into each others’ eyes. No words needed.

It doesn’t matter how much time they have left on this earth together.

True love never dies. ❤

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in Love in the Elderly and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to TRUE LOVE NEVER DIES

  1. Ashlynn says:

    Beautiful sentiment. So happy they found each other. Love you girlie and praying for you and your family.

    • Linda Trout says:

      Thank you, Ashley. I couldn’t go to sleep the other night and wound up writing this. I guess that’s when I finally let down all the guards I erect during the day and let my emotions flow.

  2. Jackie King says:

    Beautiful and true. What a wonderful example for others as they age.

  3. Susan Shay says:

    When you’re young, the first thing most of us look for is the face/body/outside. But with age comes wisdom, and while the outside might not be drop-dead gorgeous anymore, we (the lucky ones) learn it’s the heart that really matters.
    Thanks for sharing and for the reminder. Still praying for y’all.

    • Linda Trout says:

      That is so true, Susan. I’ve always heard the saying ‘Beauty is only Skin Deep.’ It really is. Thank you for your comments and especially for your prayers.

  4. Julie Kimmel-Harbaugh says:

    Beautifully written, Linda. Your heart shines through in every word. In the midst of the grey clouds, you’ve found the silver lining–the faith, hope and love which sustain us and inspire courage in others. You’re in my thoughts and prayers.

    • Linda Trout says:

      Thank you, Julie. I guess that’s why I write romance…I truly believe in the happily-ever-after. I don’t think either of them thought they’d live this long so they’ve had a wonderful 13 years together.

Leave a Reply

