FAREWELL

It has been a while since I posted, but it has been an emotional time and it took me a little longer than I anticipated to gather my thoughts and be able to write this.

Dad and Salena’s time together ended March 28th at 9:55 a.m. He quietly slipped away at the age of 91 years, 6 months, and 13 days. They had been married 13 years as of March 16th.

Dad & Salena

Budo G. & Salena Perry

(Photo taken for the church directory)

I was there by his side when he passed and it took almost a minute before I realized he wasn’t breathing. For a couple days he’d only been taking about 8 breaths a minute so I thought it was simply sleep apnea. But when I placed my hand on his chest, there was no beat. It was then that I realized that his pain was over. That he’d done all that he’d been placed on this earth to do. It was time for him to go Home.

Flowers next to Dad's casket

Family spray of flowers, standing next to his casket.

He had been in the Palliative Care Ward of the VA Hospital for 5 weeks and 5 days.

We’d all been able to tell him goodbye as there had been a steady stream of family and friends in and out of his room the entire time he was there.

Still giving instructionsCousin Roy clipping Daddy’s nails while Daddy is telling his namesake (Budo D.) how things are done. Notice he couldn’t talk without using his hands. I come by it honest. LOL

He didn’t like being alone and he didn’t like the dark so for the last 4 days, my sister, Sue, and I stayed with him around the clock.

Home away from homeThe chair/beds really weren’t all that uncomfortable. Besides, we didn’t do a lot of sleeping.

During all this time, we made sure there was a good battery in his hearing aid and we’d go to that side of the bed to talk to him. When he became unresponsive that last week, we continued talking to him as if he could hear us, because we knew he could. In fact, I had just been leaning next to his good ear, humming to him right before he passed. Knowing it was an easy transition has helped ease my sorrow.

I shall always miss him, as I do Mom. And I know Salena has lost the love of her life. We’re strong in our faith, though and one day will be reunited. In the meantime, Daddy, help St. Peter keep the gates to Heaven in good working order, just like you kept everything here running smoothly. ♥

Perry Family Pic Jan 16, 2010

Celebrating Salena, Cheryl, Don and my birthday’s.

Love you, Daddy.

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in Love in the Elderly and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to FAREWELL

  1. Ashlynn says:

    Love you, girl. *big hugs* I know how hard it has been for ya. You know I’m here whenever and however you need. Always in my thoughts.

    • Linda Trout says:

      Love you, too, Ash. You’re a good friend and knowing I can always pick up the phone and call, or even drive down, makes a lot of difference.

  2. Jackie King says:

    This is such a wonderful tribute to a life-will-lived. Well done, Linda.

    • Linda Trout says:

      Thank you for your comments, Jackie. Yes, he did live his life well. A great example for all of us.

Leave a Reply

