The Strong and Silent Type

Today I’m interviewing Sam Tarkington, the big, hunky mountain of a man who takes center stage in LAST HOPE ALASKA. Come along and see what he has to say.

LT: “Sam, what compelled you to rescue Emily when she first showed up in town?”
Sam: Grunts. “Did you see the way that woman swings her purse? I’m not sure I did much rescuing. Um, not then, anyway.”
LT: “Oh? Sounds intriguing. Want to elaborate?” He stood silent, staring me down and I swallowed hard under his intense perusal. “Okay. We’ll move on. Uh, what drew you to Ms. Redfern initially?”
Sam: A smile played at the corner of his lip. “The fact that she looked lost and alone sucked me in from the get-go. Then when I got a good look at her eyes… Well, let’s just say I couldn’t quite get them, or her, out of my mind.”
LT: I glanced at my notes before I continued. “I see you used to own the Dogsled Saloon. From all accounts you were successful and happy. Why did you sell?”
Sam: The cold stare was back. “That’s enough of an interview. I think it’s time you left.”
LT: Ouch! Touchy subject. “I’m sorry. I didn’t mean to pry. Is there anything you’d like to tell the readers today? If not about yourself, then something about the area?”
Sam: His entire demeanor changed and he smiled openly. “Alaska isn’t called the Last Frontier for nothing. The state is massive and you could spend a week in Juneau alone and not see everything. There’s Douglas Island, Mount Roberts, and Mendenhall Glacier in addition to the wilderness itself. I could talk for hours about the wonders of this state. In fact, Emily even called the forest Mother Nature’s Library. I think she might be right.”
LT: Wow. First he didn’t want to talk at all, and now he can’t say enough. “It’s obvious you love the state and I’ll definitely check things out while I’m here. Thank you.”
Sam: Nods. “Is that enough? I’m late for work.”
LT: “Of course. Thank you so much for your time.” He turned and quickly walked away, leaving me to admire the view from behind. Yum.

I’m sorry he didn’t stick around long enough so you could get to know him better…especially if you happen to run into one of these furry critters.

DSCN1371_1180

Maybe I can give you an excerpt from the story that might tease you a bit more. 😀

EXCERPT:

“Hey, this looks great.” The screen door slammed behind Sam. “Molly’s sure getting her money’s worth.”
Emily turned toward him and burst out laughing. “What in the world happened to you?” He was covered in so much dirt he looked as if he’d been rolling downhill all morning.
“Being used as slave labor. Remind me to never agree to help that woman again.” He slapped at his pants legs, sending dust flying everywhere.
“Hey! Stop that! I just swept the floor.”
“You don’t look so clean yourself, sugar.” He closed the space between them and began flipping
cobwebs out of her hair.
“Sam…” His intimate touch turned her legs to jelly. Then he reached up to wipe dirt from her nose, right before he gripped her chin and raised her face to his. He lowered his gaze to her lips. Cotton balls formed in her mouth. She licked her lips. Her eyelids drifted closed.
“What’s keeping you?” Molly called from outside the back door. “I’m ready for lunch so get a move on!”
He hissed out a curse and stepped back, releasing her. His gaze continued to hold hers a moment longer, almost as a promise. “Oh, yeah, I forgot to tell you, chow’s on.” His voice was a husky caress.
Emily couldn’t seem to make her legs move.
“Come on, Cinderella.” Grinning, Sam took her arm and tugged her in the direction of the door.

Hmm. I think I could stand to have that man around a while. How about you? 😉

About Linda Trout

I'm a retired accountant who loves a little space around me. What better way to think of new story ideas than under a tall tree, birds chirping, gofers digging, dogs barking, and cats demanding to be in your lap? When I'm totally bored, I climb on my Harley and go for a ride. That'll blow the cobwebs out of your brain.
This entry was posted in A Writers LIfe, AK, Publishing, Romance, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Strong and Silent Type

  1. Ashlynn says:

    Great interview! I like em all gruff and tough. 🙂

    • Linda Trout says:

      Thanks, Ashlynn! He’s my favorite hero. I just LOVE a man who can take care of me no matter what, yet gentle at the same time. That’s definitely Sam. 😉

Leave a Reply

